Eating healthy is hard enough in general, but throw in a couple of additional health issues that limit your diet, and it's rough to say the least.  I have several allergies, both environmental and food.  The older I get, the worse my allergies seem to get as well.  I was first tested at the age of 20 when I was having daily migraines.  The cause was determined to be a peanut allergy and my favorite cereal was made with peanut flour...  I'm most allergic to peanuts.  They now cause my lip and tongue to swell, shortness of breath, and an immediate blinding headache.  It seems to me that my allergy to soy is growing worse.  I've been breaking out in hives and having that awful headache, like with peanuts.  I'm also allergic to turkey, and to some extent chicken, milk, and eggs.  These all cause tolerable GI issues at times, but I fear they too could grow more severe.  If my food allergies weren't enough to cause limitations in my diet, you have to factor in my kidney issues.  I'm very prone to oxalate kidney stones, and I would prefer to avoid these for the rest of my life.  I have to limit my intake of foods very high in oxalate.  Many of these are very healthy and nutrient rich.  I can never again eat spinach or okra.  I have to severely limit the amount of sweet potatoes, most nuts, and many other fruits and veggies.  I really shouldn't drink black tea, and must make certain that I drink a ton of water if I drink any coffee or eat chocolate.  

I'm tired of feeling crummy because I eat things I shouldn't or because I'm too lazy to plan ahead a good, healthy meal.  I started researching diets, and I've discovered that there is no "perfect" diet.  The popular diets now all limit certain food groups that are essential for nutrition.  Over time, I'm going to share the knowledge I gain in researching these diets.  Some will be factual info, and some will be my opinion.  My opinion is backed with medical knowledge, but I am not a trained dietician.  I might end up going to see one though... who knows.  I know it will be a journey to a well-balanced and healthy way of life, but I invite you take this journey with me...



Leave a Reply.